LibGuides: History: Citing Your Sources

Citing Sources

Publication Manual 7th Edition of the American Psychological Association by American Psychological Association
Call Number: 808.06615 PUBLICAT 2020

The newest official release of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition. It is the official source for APA Style.

APA Style: Avoiding Plagiarism Guide
This guide covers two common types of plagiarism: (1) improper use of someone else’s words and (2) improper use of someone else’s ideas.
APA Style: Sample Papers
This page contains sample papers formatted in seventh edition APA Style. The sample papers show the format that authors should use to submit a manuscript for publication in a professional journal and that students should use to submit a paper to an instructor for a course assignment.
APA Style and Grammer Guidelines
APA Style provides specific guidance for in-text citation, including formats for interviews, classroom and online sources, and personal communications; in-text citations in general; and paraphrases and direct quotations.
Purdue OWL: Formatting and Style Guide (7th Edition)
Includes information on writing an APA style paper, using in-text citations, and writing a reference list with specific sources including articles, books, electronic sources, audiovisual media, and more.

MLA Handbook by The Modern Language Association of America
Call Number: 808.027 MLA HAND 2016

The Modern Language Association, the authority on research and writing, takes a fresh look at documenting sources in the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook, the official guide to MLA format.

MLA Style Center: Sample Essays
The following essays were selected for the 2024 edition of Writing with MLA Style. Essays were selected as examples of excellent student writing that use MLA style for citing sources. Essays have been lightly edited.
MLA Style Center: Works Cited - A Quick Guide
Each entry in the list of works cited is composed of facts common to most works—the MLA core elements. They are assembled in a specific order. View examples of cited sources in MLA style and use their Interactive Practice Template to build a works-cited-list entry.
Purdue OWL: MLA Formatting and Style Guide
This guide should help you better understand how to cite sources using MLA 9th edition, including how to format the Works Cited page and in-text citations.
Quick Guide to citing in MLA 9th Edition
From CSUN University Library.

OneSearch and other databases will have the option for you to cite the source you are viewing. These citations are great starting points, but should be checked for accuracy in both the details of the item and citation format.

OneSearch Citations: How-To

Once you have chosen an item to cite in OneSearch, follow these 4 steps:

Under the Send to section, select Citation.
Select your desired citation style.
Select Copy Citation to Clipboard - you can paste your citation using ctrl + v or by right clicking your mouse and selecting paste.
After pasting your citation to your document, be sure to check the citation for accuracy and modify as necessary.
- Example: in the citation below, the formatting is incorrect because the title of the article should be in sentence case, not title case.

Database Citations: How-To

Once you have chosen an item to cite in a database, follow these 4 steps:

Select the quotation mark icon - this icon typically represents the citation feature in most databases.
Select your desired citation style.
Select Copy Citation to Clipboard - you can paste your citation using ctrl + v or by right clicking your mouse and selecting paste.
After pasting your citation to your document, be sure to check the citation for accuracy and modify as necessary.