Psychology

This guide is developed specifically for those doing research in the field of psychology. It provides a recommended list of resources which encompasses electronic databases, selected Internet resources and print materials.

About the field of psychology

Psychology is the academic and applied study of mental functions and behaviors. The word “psychology” comes from two specific Greek words—psyche, which means “soul,” “life,” or “mind,” and logia, which means “the study of.” Simply put, psychology is the study of the mind. The overarching goal of psychology is to understand the behavior, mental functions, and emotional processes of human beings. This field ultimately aims to benefit society, partly through its focus on better understanding of mental health and mental illness.

You can think of peer review as a "stamp of approval" from academic experts. When an article is published in a peer-reviewed journal, you can be certain that experts in the relevant field have read it and, independent of their own particular opinions, verified it to meet a high standard of scholarship.

Scholars rely on peer review to ensure that the scholarship they exchange with each other is always based in good research and the established standards of their discipline. 

The easiest way to find peer-reviewed articles is by using one of the Library's numerous databases. The databases are divided by name and discipline. Some databases contain scholarly journals, exclusively. Others have a mix of scholarly journals, popular magazines, newspapers and other material. 

You can limit your searches to peer reviewed and scholarly articles in many of the library's individual databases.
•    EBSCO and ProQuest each have a peer reviewed option below the search box.

From the Home tab, link into Databases from the list of "guide types" to choose from to access the Library's individual databases.