About Us: Library Collection Policies and Services

Collection Development Guidelines

This collection development guideline states the guiding principles and procedures under which collection development activities, including the selection, maintenance, and weeding of print, electronic, and media materials for the Yakima Valley College Library and Media Center, will occur.

Course Reserves Request Form

Our Course Reserves service is designed to maximize student access to faculty assigned course materials via 2 hour loans. By placing items on reserve for a course(s), instructors ensure equitable access to course materials without incurring a cost to their students. Course reserve items are readily available for YVC students as they cannot be loaned out to other libraries, they cannot be checked out for long periods, and they must be kept in the library for the entirety of the 2-hour loan. Items eligible for course reserve include:

• Materials in the Yakima Valley College Library

• Personally-owned items (legitimate copies that were either commercially produced or for which instructors have copyright; the owner of personally-owned items assumes responsibility for their materials; the library is unable to replace lost or damaged personally-owned items)

Students are able to check out course reserves at the circulation desk located on the first floor of Raymond Hall. Students can see if a course reserve is available for checkout by searching through our Course Reserves catalog and entering their course subject (ex: ENGLISH) in the search bar.

InterLibrary Loans (ILL) Form

ILL is a free service that allows you to receive books and articles that are not available at in our collection by requesting them from libraries around the world. Current YVC students, faculty and staff are allowed to request ILLs. Please note:

• You must fill out the ILL form to request an item.

• Digital requests like articles and e-books usually take no more than a day or two to arrive in your email.

• Physical materials can take up to a week and half to arrive for pickup at Raymond Hall.

General Purchase Request Form

YVC students, faculty, and staff are encouraged to submit purchase requests for items that they would like to see in the library's collection by completing our General Purchase Request form. Before you suggest a purchase, please check OneSearch to see if the library already has the item in our collection. Please note:

• All purchase requests will be reviewed in accordance with the library's collection management guidelines which address added value to the curriculum, copyright, and budgetary constraints.

• We will notify you when the order has been placed, or if your purchase request is denied.

• Final acquisition decisions will be made by Library Director.