LibGuides: Chemistry: Books, Databases, & Journals

Chemistry: Books, Databases, & Journals

Books at Raymond Library

The Chemistry Book by Derek B. Lowe
Call Number: 540.9 LOWE 2016
Publication Date: 2016
From atoms and fluorescent pigments to sulfa drug synthesis and buckyballs, this lush and authoritative chronology presents 250 milestones in the world of chemistry. As the "central science" that bridges biology and physics, chemistry plays an important role in countless medical and technological advances.
Principles of Chemistry by Donald R. Franceschetti
Call Number: 540 FRANCESC 2016
Publication Date: 2016
This new resource introduces students and researchers to the fundamentals of chemistry. Entries are written in easy-to-understand language, so readers can use these entries as a solid starting off point to develop a thorough understanding of this often time confusing subject matter.

Ebooks

Basic Organic Chemistry by Ramesh Chandra; Snigdha Singh; Aarushi Singh
Call Number: Available Online
Publication Date: 2020
Basic Organic Chemistry discusses the basic concept of chemistry as well as organic chemistry. It provides the reader with the insights of basic organic chemistry so as to understand the basic organic reactions and the application of spectroscopy to study organic molecules.
Chemistry: Energy, Matter, and Change by William B. Tucker
Call Number: Available Online
Publication Date: 2024
Providing a holistic overview of general chemistry and its foundational principles, this textbook is an essential accompaniment to students entering the field. It is designed with the reader in mind, presenting the historical development of ideas to frame and center new concepts as well as providing primary and summative sources for all topics covered. These sources help to provide definitive information for the reader, ensuring that all information is peer-reviewed and thoroughly tested.

Databases and journals are most useful after you’ve done background research and have identified useful keywords being used by experts in the field. You can apply these keywords in your search to attain relevant results within these resources. Explore YVC Library's complete list databases.

Databases

Applied Science & Technology Full Text
Applied Science & Technology Full Text™ contains indexing and abstracts for nearly 800 core English-language, scientific and technical publications back to 1983. Full text of articles is available from more than 220 periodicals dating back to 1997. Content includes coverage of a wide variety of applied science specialties—acoustics to aeronautics, neural networks to nuclear and civil engineering, computers and informatics and much more.

EBSCO Academic Search Complete
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. This database also offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.

Journals

Journal of Chemistry
Journal of Chemistry is an open access journal that publishes original research articles as well as review articles on all aspects of fundamental and applied chemistry, including biological, environmental, forensic, inorganic, organic, physical and theoretical.
Open Chemistry
Open Chemistry is a peer-reviewed open access journal that publishes original research, reviews, and communications in the fields of chemistry in an ongoing way. Their central goal is to provide a hub for researchers working across all subjects to present their discoveries, and to be a forum for the discussion of the important issues in the field.

Our library catalog, known as OneSearch, allows you to search several databases and other data sources for books, articles, and more all at once! Use the OneSearch box to find more materials or visit the Research Tips - Searching for Information page to learn how to effectively use OneSearch.

Keywords and Subject Headings: When searching for your topic in OneSearch or any other database, using different keyword combinations and specific subject headings can help you bring back the materials you're looking for. Below are some Subject Headings used within the field of Chemistry that can be used to limit your results from the start, or applied to a search with specific keywords:

OneSearch

Search the library with OneSearch

Find articles, books, journals, media and more all in one place

Advanced Search